Working to deadline … (day 7)

Our moving date is now set: Friday February 3rd. Eeek. Cue that overwhelmed feeling you get when you look at all your stuff and realize that somehow it all has to be put in boxes, packed in a truck, and then unpacked again.

Add to that trying to finish off painting the new place before we move. Double eeek! Looks like a busy couple of weeks coming up. I suspect I will need another beach holiday at the end of it. I’m 99.9% sure I wont get one though. Where’s your fairy godmother when you need her?

So, I imagine posts about house improvements will be short and sweet in the coming week. With more emphasis on photos, and less on witty repartee.

Today was my first day back at the house after the break. Due to the Karate lesson deadline, it was a short day, but still got a few things done.

I thought I would let myself start gently, so the first job was to put final coat on the doors in Lys’s room.

Remember they started out looking like this?

Doors before

Which I decided didn’t work with her dark charcoal/blue and bright yellow/green color scheme. After 2 coats of Benjamin Moore Citron, they looked like this:

After the 2nd coat

Better, but they needed a final coat to even out the color. And here is what they look like now:

Lys's room after

Done! So great to start off with something that is quickly finished.

After that I decided to tackle something a little trickier. Something I knew was going to be time consuming; a job I had also started on before our break. The dirty-pink brick fireplace in the living room.

Here is what it looked like before I did anything:

Fireplace before

Gotta love the brass doors, and the green feature bricks. Not.

The first task was to paint those brass door surrounds with heat-proof spray paint:

Fireplace doors after painting

Well that helped a little, but now it was time to deal with that brick.

I decided to go with Benjamin Moore Abyss for this, as Samira (our amazing realtor) and I had seen a dark charcoal gray painted fireplace in one of the houses we had looked at. We both loved it immediately, and when we saw this one for the first time, we instantly agreed it should receive the same treatment.

One of the few added bonuses of house hunting: a great source of design ideas to steal. Or avoid like the plague: sole access way to the deck through the Master ensuite? Build said deck so it blocks half of the only living room window? Ummm no.

I knew it was going to be an arduous task, though. The bricks were chunky and textured, so no roller was ever going to work on them. No, this would be done by hand, with a 2 inch paint brush. Small enough to get into all the cracks and crevices, but large enough that I wouldn’t die of old age before I finished it.

Exactly the sort of thing you should do after the satisfaction of finishing something quickly, and 3 weeks of vacation. This is more of a long-haul job. A grit-your-teeth-and-get-on-with-it type of thing. I took a deep breath, did some limbering up stretches and set to work.

Starting on the fireplace

Not only do you have to use a small paintbrush, you have to go over each spot again and again, working the paint into the textures, holes and mortar crevices.

Work that paintbrush!

You stand back and look, and then see spots that where that wretched pink brick still shows, so you go over it again. You sigh, as you realize that you will have to do a second coat, after all.

You attempt to console yourself with the thought that the second coat is always easier. And try very hard to believe it.

Three hours later I had to put my maternal hat on, and return home, without quite getting to the end of it. Annoying. But the school gets touchy if the kids are standing around outside it for too long. And that lady in the office who calls at such times is S.C.A.R.Y. and makes you feel like a Bad Parent. Which you probably are, but that is beside the point.

So I conceded that this was on the ‘to be continued’ list …

So near and yet, so far

Stay tuned for finishing the fireplace, and more living room painting, same time tomorrow!

2 responses to “Working to deadline … (day 7)

  1. I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for posting .

Please leave me some feedback, I love hearing what you think!

