Playing garage Tetris (2nd move)

As you know I have been playing a form of Tetris in my garage, as part of transforming it from a disorderly pile of boxes to a functioning studio for me. As I have nowhere to put any of these boxes, I have been shunting them around the garage, so I can access the walls to paint them in sections. Hence the Tetris analogy.

At the end of the first move I had relocated two sets of metal shelves, and demolished one set of chipboard ones, which made enough room to paint part of one wall. Here is what it looked like when I started:

First move wall before painting

And here is what it looked like at the end of the first move:

First wall after

This meant that I now needed to begin the second move. To access the next part of the wall I had to relocate all of these boxes:

Now I have to move ALL these boxes

My aim was to get all of the boxes and furniture down to one end of the garage, so I could access the rest of the wall I started painting, plus the end wall, the attic entrance and the large shelves that were going to be the main part of my studio storage. And then paint them.

I began shunting the boxes around to start to make space. Here is the view from the door to the window before:

boxes blocking window

And after I moved all those boxes:

Look you can see the window now!

Before:

Looking towards the attic entrance

And after:

At least I can get there without scrambling over things now

Once I had shunted all the boxes, I had a nice, neat stack at the other end of the garage:

Boxes and furniture neatly stacked

Lovely! The next task was to empty the shelves.

All this stuff had to be moved …

To the left of the shelves you can see a stack of stuff left behind by the previous owners of the house. I also had to sort through this, keeping things I thought might be useful and ditching the rest. I ended up with a large pile of rubbish:

It was amazing how much stuff they had shoved in the corner

I think we will be organizing another visit from the junk removal guys before long!

After emptying the shelves and sorting the junk, I began washing everything down with TSP. TSP removes years worth of grime and grease, and helps the paint to stick to what you are painting, which is always a good thing.

I washed the shelves and the parts of the wall I could reach first:

lower areas ready to paint

But now I had a problem. The attic side of the garage is high. Really, really high. I didn’t have a ladder tall enough to reach up there to clean the walls, let alone paint them.

Some days I love my brain. It comes up with the cleverest solutions. Take one swiffer sweeper, a couple of rubber bands and a sponge:

ingredients for high wall cleaning

And combine them to make a swiffer sponge, able to reach the tallest parts of the roof:

Voila!

Problem solved! I climbed on the ladder, and cleaned the top parts of the walls, and the attic doors. Now I was ready to paint.

Here is the attic side before:

Attic wall before painting

I decided not to paint the attic access ladder or the shelves. It had nothing to do with liking their rustic look. I am not really into rustic or aged looking things. It was a matter of what would take the least effort: cutting in around them, or painting them. I decided cutting in would involve slightly less brush work, so they stayed as they were.

But how was I going to reach up there to paint? I had an extension pole for the roller, so rolling the walls was not going to be a problem, but how was I going to get up there to cut in? And how was I going to work around all those complex tiny spaces?

Enter two new painting tools to my painting arsenal:

Shur-line edger and small roller

The edger is a very clever paint pad, which screws into your extension pole and allows you to cut in places you cant reach on your own. It worked brilliantly.

The small roller was going to be very handy to get in around the ladder and the shelves. I set to work and started priming.

After priming the attic area looked like this:

Attic area after priming

Here is the window side before:

Window and shelves before

And after priming:

Window and shelves after primer

Which brought me to my second dilemma. What color to paint the shelves?

Did I really want to paint them white? I was worried about being whited-out in there.

The walls are white, yes, because I wanted I neutral space to work in, but I was beginning to think that white shelves as well might be overkill. As well as showing every scrap of dirt and grime.

As you know, I love deep rich colors, so painting them in Benjamin Moore Abyss was a no-brainer. Plus I already had some left over from the fire place and Lys’s room. Here they are after their first coat:

White-out averted …

I waited overnight for the first coat to dry and then set to getting the final coat of paint on this end of the garage. Here are some after shots for you:

Attic after

Now doesn’t that look a whole lot better?

So, my second move of garage Tetris is now complete, and I am ready to start the third move.

The third move is the fun move. To get the boxes out of the way to access the final wall, I need to unpack them. That’s right: get all my studio stuff out of boxes, onto the shelves, and organized.

Then my studio will nearly be ready for action. Just one final wall will be between me and beginning work. I. Can’t. Wait.

3 responses to “Playing garage Tetris (2nd move)

  1. Pingback: Garage Tetris 3.1 | Quirk Street

  2. Pingback: Playing Garage Tetris (3rd move) revised edition | Quirk Street

  3. Pingback: Studio a gogo | Quirk Street

Please leave me some feedback, I love hearing what you think!

